Battle of the matte lip products

I think we can all agree that Kylie Jenner can take the blame for the matte lips trend that has seemed to take off over the past few years. And don’t get me wrong, I’m completely on board. I don’t know about you, but I can say with sincerity that I much prefer a matte finish to a glossy finish, purely because I hate how my hair without fail always sticks to my lips when I wear a gloss product. With matte lips, you don’t have to worry about that. Plus, they last longer – win!

With the rise in popularity, many cosmetic companies have released their own range of matte lip products. Due to the overwhelming amount of products on the market claiming to have similar features, and since its national lipstick day today, I have decided to put 4 of those to the test, in what I call the BATTLE OF THE MATTE LIP PRODUCTS. 

I will be comparing 4 different matte lipsticks available today, in 5 different categories/rounds. By the end, we shall hopefully have an overall definitive winner. Let’s see who our contenders are today:

NYX SOFT MATTE LIP CREAM

AUSTRALIS VELOURLIPS

ESSENCE MATT MATT MATT LIP GLOSS

COLOURPOP ULTRA MATTE LIPS

 

 

LONGEVITY

NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream – The soft matte lip creams will outlast a regular lipstick, but they aren’t completely full proof. 4/5

Australis Velourlips – These have decent staying power, however I find they can tend to flake a bit once they’ve been on for a while. 3/5

Essence Matt Matt Matt – These don’t have a super matte finish, so they will wear away at around the same rate as a regular lipstick. 2/5

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip – This stuff will survive a zombie apocalypse. They practically stain your lips. 5/5

WINNER: Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip

 

SHADE RANGE

NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream – I believe there are 34 shades in the soft matte lip creams, ranging from nudes, reds, pinks, even some bright purples and blues. Definitely something for everyone 5/5

Australis Velourlips – There are 22 shades available in this range. When the product first released, they started out with bright colourful shades that weren’t so wearable, but due to their popularity, they since brought out softer, neutral shades. 4/5

Essence Matt Matt Matt – Essence offers only 4 shades in this range, plus there’s not a whole lot of variety in the shades available. That being said, the colours are actually really pretty, if pinky-mauves are your thing 2/5

Colourpop Ultra Matt Lip – So. Many. Shades. Just look online and you’ll see the vast array of colours available. There’s something for everyone. What I will say is the description and photos on their site aren’t very true to reality, so make sure to look elsewhere for swatches. 4/5

WINNER: NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream

 

 

FINISH, TEXTURE & COMFORT

NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream – These, I find, are the best of both worlds. Upon first application they are quite a creamy formula, and take a little longer to dry. However once dry, they are for me, a perfect matte finish that still allows comfort. 5/5

Australis Velourlips – These have a very matte finish. However, from personal experience, these aren’t the most comfortable to wear. They do feel a bit heavy and sticky on the lips, but this factor doesn’t deter me from choosing to wear or buy them. 2/5

Essence Matt Matt Matt – If you’re looking for an extremely matte finish – this one isn’t for you. It’s more of a semi matte finish, so it’s more comfortable on the lips and great for those who are new to matte lips and wants to gradually ease themselves into a more matte finish. 3/5

Colourpop Ultra Matt Lip – These bad boys are crazy pigmented and super matte.  The formula is very thin and runny, making application a bit tricky. These dry like paint and once dried, they feel super light on the lips, to the point where I sometimes forget I’m wearing them. I’ve heard others say they can feel a little drying, but I think it’s a case of personal preference. 4/5

WINNER: NYX Soft Matte Lip Creams

 

PRICE

NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream – $12.95 AUD for 8ml of product

Australis Velourlips – $10.49 AUD for 10ml of product

Essence Matt Matt Matt – $4.70  AUD for 5ml of product

Colourpop Ultra Matt Lip – $6 USD for 3.2g of product

WINNER: Essence gives you better value for money (if I’ve done my calculations correctly!)

 

PACKAGING

NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream – I’ve always loved the packaging of the soft matte lip creams. I love the matte black lid and how it contrasts with the shiny finish of the bottle. The packaging also shows the product fairly true to colour. 5/5

Australis Velourlips – These bottles are very cute. I love the fonts and the small design details. 4/5

Essence Matt Matt Matt – I really like the applicator of this product, it provides the perfect amount of product. The bottle is also a nice shape, slightly different from most lip products. 4/5

Colourpop Ultra Matt Lip – I love the silver details with a holographic/irradecent tinge, however I find that the product colour in the packaging differs quite a lot what you get once you apply it to your lips. 4/5

WINNER: NYX Soft Matte Lip Creams

 

OVERALL WINNER

Winning 3 out of the 5 categories, and scoring a total of 19 points out a possible 20, the NYX Soft Matte Lip Creams are our winner!



What are your favourite matte lip products?

– Karen xx

Instagram • Twitter • Pinterest • Bloglovin’

 

16 thoughts on “Battle of the matte lip products

  1. Soft matte lip creams are my favourites! They’re brilliant and don’t dry my lips out either! Great choice! Have you tried MAC mate lipsticks? They are also amazing! I love the layout of this post, very informative and not too ‘wordy’ x

    Like

  2. I’m a fan of NYX soft matte lip creams, colourpop ultra matte and essence matt matt lipsticks 🙂 I kind of like that essence is semi-matte and it helps that it has a nice vanilla scent to it 🙂 It reminds me of the scent of MAC lipstick scents.

    Like

Leave a Reply

